Kara-Moon Forum
March 28, 2024, 12:52:01 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: You can go back to the main site here: Kara-Moon site

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: A Different Perspective  (Read 3227 times)
folderol
Kara-Moon Master

Who? Me?

« on: June 26, 2011, 09:03:32 PM »

Sometimes it takes just a very small change for you to see something familiar in a totally new way. In my case, the 'familiar' is my favourite patch of woodland (Denge Wood) that I've been walking regularly for 10 to 15 years.

I've settled into a sort of routine when I go there of going more or less in a circle but varying the exact paths I take. There is just one section of bridleway that I always walk because it is the only practical one if I'm to avoid going over my own tracks. I also tend to regard it as rather boring. It is on the Eastern side of a wide valley, dead straight and near the top, but lined quite thickly with trees so you don't really get to see the valley.

Typically the walk takes me 2-3 hours, and I start with the above mentioned section. Again I usually start at around 9:30 so that at the end of my walk I'm ready for a short drive to lunch at a nearby pub.

Yesterday (Saturday) I had been visiting friends, and decided that rather than use the motorways I'd go home via the back roads. This meant I would go right past Denge Wood. Also, after several days of miserable dull weather it was brilliant sunshine that evening. On a whim I decided to have a walk. It was about 6:30 in the evening, so with clear skies I knew I'd have plenty of time.