Kara-Moon Forum
March 29, 2024, 06:12:12 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: You can go back to the main site here: Kara-Moon site
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: On/Off  (Read 6717 times)
sciurius
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 443



« on: December 05, 2019, 12:51:17 PM »

If I understand the docs correctly, On/Off are supposed to enable/disable MIDI generation for a track.
So if I have Drum-Kick and Drum-HH I have one single MIDI drum track, and Drum Off will silence both.

Apparently this is not the case and I need explicit statements

    Drum-Kick off
    Drum-HH off


Is that intended behaviour?
Logged
bvdp
Kara-Moon Master
****
Posts: 1436


WWW
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2019, 04:40:03 PM »

Yes, it's correct. From the docs:

   OFF - To disable the generation of MIDI output on a specific track:

Remember, please, a MMA track is NOT a MIDI channel Smiley

Also, like the docs state, this is just a shortcut to disabling a track via a sequence change.
Logged

My online life: http://www.mellowood.ca
sciurius
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 443



« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2019, 06:06:41 PM »

A MMA track is not a MIDI track is not a MIDI channel. Three very different things...

   OFF - To disable the generation of MIDI output on a specific track

Seeing the words MIDI and track so close together caused me to associate track with MIDI track, not MMA track. Also, although I'm not a native english speaker, the wording "generation of MIDI output on a specific track" hints to track as being a destination (i.e. MIDI track). Would it be better to write "generation of MIDI output for a specific track"?
Logged
bvdp
Kara-Moon Master
****
Posts: 1436


WWW
« Reply #3 on: December 05, 2019, 07:06:51 PM »

Yes, this whole TRACK versus CHANNEL is confusing. I think that in this case I should add a note in the on/off section. Okay, done: "Note: this applies to the generation of MIDI only on
the specified \mma track." added to both sections.
Logged

My online life: http://www.mellowood.ca
sciurius
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 443



« Reply #4 on: December 10, 2019, 09:50:56 AM »

The attached patch implements track commands for subtracks. To do this, append an asterisk to the track type. For example:

    Drum* Off

invokes the OFF command for all existing tracks DRUM, DRUM-HIGHHAT, DRUM-KICK, and so on.

* multitrack.patch.txt (1.1 KB - downloaded 164 times.)
Logged
bvdp
Kara-Moon Master
****
Posts: 1436


WWW
« Reply #5 on: December 10, 2019, 04:20:04 PM »

That looks good. Let me test in the next few days and I'll probably add it.

Just one question Smiley Should it be Drum* (as per patch) or Drum-* to keep consistency with existing syntax? ... probably not since Chord-* is a valid track name (which is unfortunate). So, Drum* it will have to be.

Chasing the rabbit: Does this mean we will need a Drum* Volume pp, etc? Smiley
Logged

My online life: http://www.mellowood.ca
sciurius
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 443



« Reply #6 on: December 10, 2019, 05:50:20 PM »

Actually, TRACK* command will execute command for all existing TRACK, TRACK-...

So it should work for any command already.
Logged
bvdp
Kara-Moon Master
****
Posts: 1436


WWW
« Reply #7 on: December 10, 2019, 06:43:25 PM »

Of course this is what your patch does ... I need to learn to read code Smiley

I'll install later and see if I can break it! Well done.
Logged

My online life: http://www.mellowood.ca
bvdp
Kara-Moon Master
****
Posts: 1436


WWW
« Reply #8 on: December 10, 2019, 10:39:55 PM »

Ummm ... but, actually this ability is already in MMA. And I apologize for not pointing it out earlier!

    AllTracks Drum OFF

etc. See the fine manual for details Smiley
Logged

My online life: http://www.mellowood.ca
bvdp
Kara-Moon Master
****
Posts: 1436


WWW
« Reply #9 on: December 10, 2019, 10:58:37 PM »

In a similar vein, also see AllGrooves.
Logged

My online life: http://www.mellowood.ca
sciurius
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 443



« Reply #10 on: December 11, 2019, 08:41:34 AM »

Well, if it escaped you that this functionality is already there you can hardly blame me Smiley.

In the docs, you may want to add PLECTRUM to the list of track types that may be specified.

In the case of AllGrooves, is it a track modifier (as documented), or a track type modifier (as with AllTracks)?
Logged
bvdp
Kara-Moon Master
****
Posts: 1436


WWW
« Reply #11 on: December 12, 2019, 12:29:53 AM »

Well, if it escaped you that this functionality is already there you can hardly blame me Smiley.

Yeah, but if you look in the example songs supplied with MMA you will see both AllGrooves and AllTracks used a lot. Honestly, I have no idea why I didn't suggest this when you first asked!

Quote
In the docs, you may want to add PLECTRUM to the list of track types that may be specified.

Done. Thanks.

Quote
In the case of AllGrooves, is it a track modifier (as documented), or a track type modifier (as with AllTracks)?

Not sure where you are reading, but assuming that it is the section "Command Summary" I think it should read "Apply command to..", in the singular. The error message in AllTracks is wrong/misleading. I've just changed it to "AllTracks: Requires a Track name or Type and a command." And, the doc string for the command is silly ... fixed.

Does that get it all?
« Last Edit: December 12, 2019, 12:42:07 AM by bvdp » Logged

My online life: http://www.mellowood.ca
sciurius
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 443



« Reply #12 on: December 12, 2019, 08:41:43 AM »

I read it in section 'Grooves':

   The ALLGROOVES command operates by applying its arguments to each GROOVE currently defined. This includes the environment you are currently in, even if this is not a defined GROOVE.

   You can use the command with or without a track modifier:

   AllGrooves Volume p

   or

   AllGrooves Chord Octave 5

2nd para, "with or without a track modifier".
Logged
bvdp
Kara-Moon Master
****
Posts: 1436


WWW
« Reply #13 on: December 12, 2019, 04:32:52 PM »

Assuming that being too wordy is better than being vague ... I've changed the line in the docs to:

   
    You can use the command with or without a track modifier as the second
    argument (depending, of course, on the command):


Thanks.
Logged

My online life: http://www.mellowood.ca
sciurius
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 443



« Reply #14 on: December 12, 2019, 05:08:56 PM »

The point is: what is a track modifier? Even with the modified wording I would still be thinking I must use track names while you seem to mean track types.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.05 seconds with 20 queries.