Kara-Moon Forum
May 08, 2024, 09:39:09 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: You can go back to the main site here: Kara-Moon site

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: A Lonely Man  (Read 812 times)
MarioD
Kara-Moon Master

« on: November 20, 2023, 08:45:57 PM »

I had some time yesterday to try my new Swam VSTis, the Solo Strings. This quickly composed song, about 3 hours, uses the solo violin. You can let me know if it sounds realistic or not. Thanx.

I am playing the VSTi via my keyboard controller while Band-in-a-Box is supplying the balance of the tracks.

https://soundcloud.com/mario_guitar/a-lonely-man

The older I get the better I was!
bvdp
Kara-Moon Master

« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2023, 10:48:46 PM »

It is a good e-violin. Matter of fact, it is a very, very good electric violin ... But, and I am not an expert in these things, it doesn't quite sound like a real one to my old and tired ears. I suspect it's the bowing and all that which violin players spend years and years learning? But, I might have been fooled if I didn't know better??? Don't know.

My online life: http://www.mellowood.ca
MarioD
Kara-Moon Master

« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2023, 11:19:03 PM »

Bob, I agree.  Part of that maybe the fact that I don't know much about the art of playing a violin. I think it sounds better in the lower registers than in the higher ones.

Thanx for listening and commenting.

bvdp
Kara-Moon Master

« Reply #3 on: November 21, 2023, 12:10:13 AM »

I've never learned fiddle ... I just don't think I could get though the annoying learning stage. I do love a WELL PLAYED fiddle (opps, VIOLIN!) as done but some of the concert players and gypsy jazz folks. Gotta say my favorite is Stephan Grapelli. BTW, I can't stand fiddling (as in gigs, reels, etc).